Skip to content

sandstorm.

September 7, 2011

I know I haven’t been the best about blogging.
going to try to be better.
promise.

so I’ve been wrestling a lot lately. no- not physically- but emotionally and spiritually. I’ve been trying to maintain an upbeat, joyful spirit in light of my circumstances. namely, in light of being single amongst many ‘marrieds.’ and more ‘married with kids.’

Lately, most of my discussions (when I’m not being selfish and self-pitying- bleck!) have been about how so many people are seeking the “something else”, or the “what come next.” It’s so true! We focus on the future of the big X. The X can be filled in by so many things.

soulmate
kid
job
home
retirement
school

and on and on and on and on.

And yet when we focus on the constant (Jesus), not on the variable (big X), we are all on the same playing field.

I’ve been so focused on trying to find somewhere to “fit in.” to find some “singles” or “young professionals” group so I can feel understood. when in reality? everyone around me is dealing with the same thing: focused on the future, the next X, and losing sight of Jesus.

Jesus- the foundation. the Rock. the hope. the future.

You know that kids song-
“the foolish man built his house on the sand/the wise man built his house upon the rock.”

Yea. It’s been far too sandy over here lately.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

